donut say ‘goodbye’

Good Morning! As unbelievable as it seems, waking up at 7:30 this morning felt like a sigh of relief. Yesterday I had to be up at 4:30. Shoot me. But that’s all in the past because my internship (which was why I was up so early) is over! I mean, while I wasn’t into the early mornings, I had so much fun and I am really going to miss  working there every day 😦 .

My internship was with ABC Network News and I was assisting research in the newsroom as well as writing articles and helping on shoots. It was endlessly interesting, often times very fast paced, and always active. I mean, every single day we had the hard deadline of “Nightly News”, so there was never any “oh, i’ll do it tomorrow” business. Everything had to be done that day and as quickly as possible.

One of the most exciting days was when I was working on a shoot about getting hit by trains. They had decided to do the segment late in the day, so we didn’t head out until about 1:00 PST to go to location (Nightly News comes on at 3:30 PST). When the producer, cameraman, corespondent and I arrived at the tracks we decided it would be best to get a shot with the train in the background, which meant we had to wait for the trains to come. Unfortunately, by the time we got there the next train was not scheduled to arrive until 3:00 PST, just 30 minutes before Nightly News went live. But we waited and brainstormed different cool shots we could come up with and how to get the best angle, however it obviously wasn’t enough preparation. When we finally saw the train coming down the tracks, Matt, our corespondent, decided he actually wanted to be on the other side, so he raced across the tracks right in front of the train. Luckily we got the shot, but the conductor of the train was clearly unhappy because he started to slow down and was blowing his horn quite loudly. We hung around a little more to get a few more angles as trains started coming more frequently, until a nearby worker came over and told us that the conductor had called the police on us and they were on their way. All four of us then immediately packed up and piled into the cameraman’s van and sped off. We returned to the newsroom and sent the footage to New York to be edited at about 3:30. It was done literally minutes before it aired on television, but no one else would have ever known that, nor would they be able to tell what had happened to get that footage.

It was days like that which kept me enthusiastic and excited. I was not a stereotypical intern who just runs to get coffee or works the fax machine, but instead I was like any other newbie in the room. They even let me go on some high profile shoots like Robin Roberts interview with Maria Shriver for the Special Olympics where I help set up and sat in for Maria as they adjusted their lighting and cameras. Basically, I fell in love with this world.

But, as much as I could talk about how great it was to work with them for hours, that actually wasn’t what I sat down to write this post about. What I wanted to talk about was my last day in which, to thank them for allowing me to tag along for the summer, I brought in doughnuts.

Now, let’s establish one thing, food was a very big deal in this office. They had this giant “earthquake” drawer (you’ll see why earthquake is in quotes) filled with every sort of snack imaginable. I’m talking Peanut M&Ms, Doritos, Pretzels, Goldfish, York peppermint patties, Mike & Ike’s, Juicy Fruit gum, the list goes on and on. And this was no measly little drawer, no it was a giant industrial sized drawer filled to the brim with snacks. Guess what. I had to completely refill it every two weeks. Yes, you read that right, this office of about 25 people ate an entire drawer filled with snacks every two weeks: insanity. On top of that, because there were people there at all hours and everyone came in at different times, those who had been there say about 6 a.m. or 3 a.m. started discussing lunch options around 9 a.m. even though they still ate around 11 a.m. . Basically food was a BIG deal.

So, when I decided to bring in doughnuts I couldn’t get just any doughnut. No, I had to take out the big guns: California Donuts. No unfortunately I didn’t snap any good photos of these doughnuts (I was too busy eating them), but just click on the link to see how awesome these are. Just to give you a picture here are some of the flavors:

Maple Bacon Bar
Snickers Bar
Panda Donut
Fruity Bar
Frooty Loops
M&M Overload
Blueberry Toast Crunch
Reeses Peanut Butter
Cookies & Cream
Chocolate Covered Strawberries
Strawberry & Nuts
Lucky Charms

Ohmygosh I want another one right now. And what is even better is that the shop in Koreatown is open 24/7. What?! I know right! So I was able to pick my doughnuts up at 5:30 a.m. (there was a line even at that hour in the morning) to get them to the office by six. And, as their sign boasts, they are nice and fresh and hot! Yum, Yum, Yum. And, ironically enough, LA Weekly posted an article the same day I brought them in which lists California Donuts as one of the top 5 doughnut shops in LA. Basically, this isn’t your average Krispy Kreme doughnut.

Go. Enjoy.

2 thoughts on “donut say ‘goodbye’

Leave a Reply

