tgi friday

I meant to make this post on Friday, but the days just keep getting away from me and now it is Sunday afternoon (oh well, what are you gonna do?). This past Friday night for dinner my family went down to Abbot Kinney Blvd. for their annual First Fridays. First Fridays come every first Friday of the month (hence the name) and the city blocks off parts of the street to make room for seating as well as the best food trucks in the city and the street is packed with food lovers trying out their favorite trucks.

But, first let me back up a bit. Abbot Kinney in itself is a pretty hipster, cool street. It has tons of shabby-chic stores along with delicious restaurants, cute coffee shops, and art hubs. And, to top it all off, the heart of Abbot Kinney is just a short jaunt from Venice Beach and the street runs all the way down to the sand. Here’s some of the cool wall-art that is common along the street:

photo 3 (12)

Now, back to the food. There were an endless number of food trucks to choose from; everything from lobster rolls to gourmet grilled cheese to classic Cuban sandwiches and so much more. I had been to one of the first First Fridays (hehe) a few years ago, before I started blogging, and got a Lobster roll from Cousin’s Maine Lobster truck along with a GIANT slutty-brownie from B-Sweet (when I say GIANT, I mean GIANT). Lemme just say, that was a pretty fantastic day and seriously raised the bar for this time.

This trip I tasted chicken tacos from Kogi, along with a make-my-own ice cream sandwich from Chunk ‘n Chip. I have been dying for a long time to try Kogi, which is a highly acclaimed food truck here in LA, and I was by no means disappointed. The line, while fairly long, moved quickly and the tacos were a nice combination of spicy and sweet. Chunk ‘n Chip, however, was more of an impulse decision. I mean, who can say no to fresh baked, still warm cookies surrounding perfectly smooth ice cream? (Nobody.) Just look at it:

photo 2 (16)

photo 1 (17)

Can I just say, “yum”!  Chocolate chip cookies and peanut butter ice cream: the perfect combo. I could eat here every day (You think I’m kidding, but I’m not) and I really want to try some of the more exotic flavors like lavender and honey cookies or fruity pebbles ice cream!

Besides the delicious eats, I enjoyed walking up and down the streets while joking around with my family. It was a great way to end the day and spend some time together while trying something new. And, to top it off, for once we didn’t all have to agree on where to eat, but we all got something we like. Sounds like a win-win to me, eh?

Leave a Reply

