more flags, more fun

As unbelievable as this may seem, I managed to go 17 years of my life without going to Six Flags Magic Mountain. I’ve done Knott’sUniversal, obviously Disney, and even Hurricane Harbor, but for some reason I have never before wandered into Magic Mountain. And let me tell you, boy was I missing out!

Let’s establish a few ground rules first. I am a HUGE roller coaster fan/fanatic. I’m one of those weirdos who lives for that flip-flop feeling we all get in our stomachs when the coaster drops, so this park was right up my alley. For those of you who don’t know Six Flags, it has some of the biggest and scariest roller coasters in my area; a true coaster fanatic’s dream.

So, I went this past Sunday (I know, a summer Sunday. Am I crazy?) with a few friends, none of whom have been before. It was really nice for us all to be in the same boat and deal with our fear and trepidation together. Therefore, we decided that we would start with one of the biggest and baddest roller coasters: Tatsu. It was honestly the best 2 minutes that felt like 30 seconds of my life. The ride takes you on your stomach Peter Pan-style as you soar around loops and twists and everything the designers could have thought of. My Peter reference wasn’t just to give an idea of the sitting position: the ride literally felt like I was flying. My fear of hitting my hand on the outside rail was the only thing keeping me from sticking out my hands wing-like and pretending I was soaring miles about the gorgeous valley landscape.

We ended on many more rides (Batman, X2, Scream, Revolution, Viper, etc.) than I would have ever though possible for being there for only 5 hours on a packed summer Sunday. We tackled all the famous big coasters along with many other smaller ones. Let me just say: a FUNominal day. If you are ever in the Six Flags area I would say GO, GO, GO! The only negative thing I really have to say is that it was way too hot; not that the park can do anything to change that.

So, stay cool and have a great summer!

Leave a Reply

