artsy fartsy

The title “artsy fartsy” is apparently an incredibly derogatory term according to my school’s art teachers, which they made very clear in their substantial email about the misrepresentation of the art department in the yearbook (Speaking of which, I am going to be Editor-In-Chief next year! ~happy dance~). I just think the phrase is cute because it rhymes and it has the word “art” in it. (I get that in actuality it relates art to farts). So let’s get this straight: I like art, appreciate it, and use the phrase “artsy fartsy” in a positive manner.

Now, moving on, why did I even bother to mention all this? Well, this was my less than smooth way of starting a post about my trip to the Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA). Most people have been to museums, right? So, I mean what’s the big deal with this? Well, I decided to go all by myself. For fun. And I’m 17. I know, that statement kind of ruins it in a way by taking what was a day of fun and making it into a bragging right. But, just pretend the bragging didn’t happen.

I ended up going with a friend after our previous plans fell through because I lost access to a car and she refuses to drive on freeways (*sigh*). If you are not from LA, let me just establish that freeways are of the utmost importance if you plan on going anywhere. I take the freeway to school, to my internship, to downtown, to eat, to everywhere (And the whole time I refer to them as “THE“). So, we took side streets all the way to LACMA.

This was my first time at LACMA for many years. My last memory of this museum was when I was really little and my mom took me to go see an exhibit on neon lights by Dan Flavin. My favorite was a neon pink light in a corner aptly named “Pink In the Corner”. I was about ten or so. Nevertheless, today I still qualify as a kid (17 and under get in free: whooo!) and again I really enjoyed the exhibits.

My favorite showing that we saw was of artists who combined words and literature with art. Both my friend and I are avid readers (After LACMA we ended up wandering around Book Soup- a bookstore- for an hour or so), so this instillation seemed to touch a chord in both of us.

See: (pardon my mediocre iPhone photography)

photo 3 (11)

This piece showcases various lines of Whitman’s Leaves of Grass alongside small tokens or images that the words bring to mind. It is like a visual representation of the power of poetry to create images and the ability of words to act as art. There were also other pieces where writing simply appeared in the picture alongside the actual image. For instance I liked this line:

photo 4 (9)

In case that is illegible on the computer it says: “A fine head of hair is the pride and joy of every woman’s heart!” .

And another piece, this one a bit more gruesome, gave step by step details alongside sketches of this artist’s plan. For what purpose this plan was I have not the smallest idea.

photo 2 (15)

Art. What can I say?

While my friend and I only got through one building at the museum, I had a great time. I had completely forgotten what museum-going was like (we used to go all the time when we were little, but haven’t been back in a while) and I think I might take it up again. I mean, I could even go back to LACMA and see the at least two other buildings we missed and then there are always tons of other museums all over LA. I could go to one every day! (I’m kidding!)

P.S. The Children’s Discovery Museum of the Desert is the best museum I have ever been to. (Granted I haven’t been in about 10 years, but it was so amazing that it always stuck out in my mind.) Just thought I would mention that while we were on the topic.

Leave a Reply

