this little piggy…

This Sunday I decided to go to my local farmer’s market. When I was little we used to go all the time, but recently not so much. However, this morning I woke up before 12, motivated my mom and sister and we drove on over!

LA has many farmer’s markets scattered throughout the city held on both Saturday and Sunday. We chose to attend the one in Brentwood and it was so much fun! There was a bounce house, a petting zoo, and of course lots of fresh foods. I loved walking past all the different stalls filled with fresh fruits and vegetables. Also, unlike shopping at supermarkets, most fruit vendors provided yummy samples we got to taste and try. I learned I liked Asian pears the best, and I got to try a dried persimmon. The colors and smells were so beautiful and the whole feeling was fresh and airy (keep in mind you can still wear shorts in LA).

farmer's market

farmer's market 2

We got fresh squash, kale, apples, pears, peppers, just to name a few. And, we supported some local farmers at the same time. Now, the house is filled with gorgeous smells as my mom roasts brussels sprouts for dinner (YUMMY). The farmer’s market was a great way to start the week and now my lunch salads will be filled with yumminess!

Leave a Reply

