the great pumpkin: Halloween pre-game part 2

Okay, so yesterday I said that I was going to do a post each day this weekend, so here I am following through with post number 2! So, what is my 2nd favorite part about October? PUMPKINS! besides just eating pumpkin flavored treats, I also enjoy the squash in itself, and of course making Jack-O-Lanterns. I’ve been dying to get a pumpkin this year and today I had the chance. My friend and I were looking for something to do, so we decided to spend the day at the pumpkin patch! Now, LA doesn’t exactly have many giant fields of empty space lying around, so the really good pumpkin patches are outside the city. As a child, my family went to Tapia Brothers Pumpkin Patch in Encino, which was quite the trek for a little kid (However, it was totally worth the drive and still my forever favorite patch). The one exception to the city rule being Mr. Bones Pumpkin Patch which is located just off Sunset in West Hollywood.

Mr. Bones Pumpkin patch is the popular, Hollywood-type, overly hyped, pumpkin patch in LA. For example, there are literal paparazzi who stand outside the  patch waiting for celebrities with their kids to appear. For me, this turned a typically rustic outing into a very city girl activity. There were also like a billion rules; I mean how can they  forbid me from smashing the pumpkins? (Do they know who I am?) However, they had pumpkins and hay, so it was pretty much the best day ever! I was also able to find my perfect little pumpkin that I bought to later carve.

WelcomeMrBonesMrBones

Another nice thing about Mr. Bones, is that it is literally five steps away from La Conversation. This adorable little French bakery and restaurant has the best chocolate croissants (go early because they are usually gone by 10) and an overall perfect atmosphere. Eating in or just stopping to get a treat, this is pretty much the place to go.

Now, after my friend and I got back to her house (with our French goodies), we got to do the second best thing to do with a pumpkin: carve it! I took a less traditional approach to my design and carved the Deathly Hallows symbol into my little pumpkin. After some pumpkin seeds (and a lot of Krazy glue), I think it turned out pretty adorable. Now I just have to hope that it won’t rot before Halloween! (Eeeek!!)

pumpkinsPumpkins pretty much only come around once a year, so I’m glad I got the chance this year to partake in the action! So, just to review, so far I have labeled my first and second favorite parts of October as treats and pumpkins. Pretty solid if I do say so myself. Today was a pretty great day. Scratch that: today was the best day I have had all October. Tomorrow I’ll be having even more fun when I write my last of these posts (even I am excited for this one!!)

Leave a Reply

